Company Logo

Address, Phone & Web

1802 Hill Avenue
Suite B103
Spirit Lake, IA 51360
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Stay Connected

Stay Informed

We use Nixle to alert the public of dangerous situations and to communicate other important information. Alerts sent via Nixle are delivered to subscribers via e-mail and/or text message. Signing up for Nixle is free of charge (standard text message rates apply through your cell phone carrier). SIGN UP NOW or VIEW RECENTLY SENT MESSAGES.


About Emergency Management

Emergency Management is a coordinated effort, involving local, state, and federal government agencies as well as volunteer organizations and businesses. Within an integrated emergency management framework, these entities assist citizens and their communities to prepare for, respond to, recover from, and eliminate or reduce the effects of natural, man-made, civil, and technological emergencies and disasters.

Iowa Code states that each county shall form an Emergency Management Commission and that the commission shall consist of a member of the Board of Supervisors, the Sheriff or the Sheriff's representative, and the mayor or the mayor's representative from each city within the county. The commission members are the operations liaison officers between their jurisdiction and the commission.

Further, Iowa Code states that the Commission shall appoint a Coordinator. The coordinator oversees the day-to-day activities of the office and fulfills the planning, training and exercise requirements outlined in Iowa Code. Despite the name of the office being "Dickinson County Emergency Management", the Coordinator reports directly to the Emergency Management Commission, and not to the Board of Supervisors. Per Iowa code section 29C, the Emergency Management Commission is a municipality, as defined by code section 670.1.

Dickinson County Emergency Management Commission Members

Jurisdiction Representative
City of Arnolds Park Police Chief Al Krueger
City of Lake Park Mayor John Engel
City of Milford Councilman Don Olsen
City of Okoboji Councilman Jim Delperdang
City of Orleans Mayor Carlton Mitchell
City of Spirit Lake Councilman Jerry Harbst
City of Superior Mayor Everett Houge
City of Terril Mayor Tim Fairchild
City of Wahpeton Mayor Frank Joenks
City of West Okoboji City Administrator Ed Rice
Dickinson County Board of Supervisors Supervisor David Gottsche
Dickinson County Sheriff Sheriff Greg Baloun

Be Prepared

Being prepared can help prevent or minimize the impact on you and your property. Find out how to prepare for various situations here.

We're StormReady!

Dickinson County and eight communities have been certified “StormReady” by the National Weather Service. For more information, click here.

IEMA Member

Iowa Emergency Management AssociationDickinson County Emergency Management is a member of the Iowa Emergency Management Association. To learn more about IEMA, visit their website at